“We should not forget that it will be just as important to our descendants to be prosperous in their time as it is to us to be prosperous in our time.”

Theodore Roosevelt


Each of the 105 conservation districts in the state are governed by a locally-elected board of supervisors. Board members generously volunteer their time at monthly meetings to ensure the district is well-run and they regularly volunteer at the many special events the district sponsors. Districts are nearly always co-located with Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) in USDA field offices, a mutually beneficial partnership. Conservation only happens in partnership with others.


Lyle Wobker, Chair (Paola)
Merle Kaiser, Vice-Chair (Paola)
Eleanor Zuvanich, Treasurer (Spring Hill)
Pansy Bigley, Member (Paola)
Jerod Ryckert, Member (Paola)
Mark Peters, Advisor (Paola)
Jenny Fyock, Advisor (Paola)


Lesley Rigney, District Manager (Louisburg)

Cheryl Reynolds, Office Assistant (Paola)

Susie Atkins, Watershed Educator (Spring Hill)

Shay Hanysak, Watershed Outreach (Osawatomie)

Jose Mendoza, NRCS District Conservationist (Spring Hill)

Bob Allen, NRCS Conservation Technician (Osawatomie)

Tim McCoy, NRSC Soil Conservationist (Overland Park)

Jeff Davidson, K-State Watershed Specialist (Eureka)